Customer Reviews for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at L.L.Bean.

Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop

  • Warm, waterproof boots with the comfort of sneakers
  • 400-gram PrimaLoft® insulation keeps your feet warm
  • Hook-and-loop closure for easy on/off
Average Customer Rating:
3.84 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
28
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
17
112 out of 150(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Review 1 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

too small

,
Date:November 20, 2013
By
from 30439
" much too small. could not put on the boots. "
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice boot if you can get it on

,
Date:October 16, 2013
By
from Cook, Minnesota
Customers Say It Fits:
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
" The boot looks good and I like the amount of insulation but I simply had a terrible time trying to get it on my foot. The tongue opening is way, way too tight. After much trying I finally was able to get my foot in with very light stockings. It was so hard to get my foot into that I only put one on. The fit felt fine at that point but because of the difficulty in putting it on I returned the boot. "
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:retired and enjoying outdoor life
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ridiculous fit.

,
Date:August 5, 2013
By
from Rochester, NY, USA
Customers Say It Fits:
Fit:
Too Narrow
Somewhat Narrow
Too Wide
" I do not have large in-step and my feet are rather narrow.
Nevertheless, I barely pulled on the right boot and no matter how I tried- I could not put on a left one!
I can not imagine who did they have in mind when designing the boots. Ducks? Definitely, majority of men would not be able to put them on.
(I know my feet- I had hard time finding ski boots that would hold me snug and not let my feet move too much).
Not sure if that particular pair was defective, or not. "
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

my slender feet would not fit

,
Date:February 22, 2013
By
from New Jersey, USA
Customers Say It Fits:
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
" I was excited to receive these boots and I when I received them I tried them on and I couldn't get my foot in either shoe. I was wearing very thin dress socks as well. I wear a women's size 11B and I ordered men's 11. Very disappointed. I returned them and am still looking for a good winter boot. "
Review 5 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Please Make a Wide Version

,
Date:December 1, 2012
By
from Auburn, ME
Customers Say It Fits:
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
" Was hoping I could replace the old Snow Sneaker with the WildCat Boot. Heard very good things about this boot. But, alas, they are not made in a Wide version. Too Bad, Tried them on at the Freeport store, do not fit. Will now have to shop somewhere else for a good, comfortable winter boot. I really prefer to purchase from L.L.Bean. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:Nature Photographer and Bird Watcher
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Used to be great

,
Date:December 21, 2011
By
from New York, NY
This Product is...not worth buying
" These used to be the best winter boots in the world; I've been wearing them and updating them for years. They were as padded and warm as an eiderdown -- a pleasure to put your feet into -- as well black (so they fit with a city look), and super waterproof (so you could stroll thru a puddle).
Now they are hard and uncomfortable as steel. And a bad color, but I would have paid to redye them if they were still comfortable. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Uncomfortable

,
Date:November 3, 2011
By
from Michigan
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Half Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
This Product is...very uncomfortable
" I found the boots extremely narrow. I could barely get my foot inside and once on my feet, they were very narrow and short in the toe even though I sized up as recommended. The boots are extremely stiff with virtually no flexability, Very uncomfortable. I don't like having to pay return shipping but will be returning them. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?First time
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:Outdoorsman
Review 8 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Clunky

,
Date:December 16, 2010
By
from Atlanta, GA
" Boot was oversized, clunky, and stiff through the tongue area. Too inflexible to be comfortable in my opinion "
Review 9 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too tight

,
Date:December 9, 2010
By
from Shoreview, MN
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Half Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Somewhat Narrow
Too Wide
" Fit was tight even though I ordered one size larger than what I ordinary wear. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:Retired but very active outdoor person
Review 10 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

far too narrow

,
Date:December 1, 2010
By
from Canada
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
This Product is...extremely uncomfortable
" The opening around the ankle of these boots is so narrow that I could barely get my foot inside. I had to pull up quite forcefully on the back tab with both hands while pressing down with great force on the floor. I do not have wide feet, and I have never experienced such a painfully tight boot opening before. Once on, they are extremely stiff boots, reminding me of old-style ski boots. Very uncomfortable. I will be returning them. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

lousy boots

,
Date:February 3, 2010
By
from Amissville, VA
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
" I wear size 9 shoes. These are size 9 boots. I cannot get them on. They are completely worthless. I don't know if they are sized wrong or just what but they are useless to me. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:camper, hiker, banjo player, dog lover, jeep driver, ex-Navy
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ruined My Husbands Christmas

,
Date:December 28, 2009
By
from Alaska
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Half Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Somewhat Narrow
Too Wide
" This was his only present and the look on his face when he pulled the boots out was so wonderful. He said "these look beautiful and they have the hook and loop."
He had a stroke a long time ago and all his shoes that make his life easy is to have the hook and loop.
He wears a 12 and is happy with any width.
When he tried to get his foot into the boot it was not a large enough opening to get his foot in to try the size.
What is strange is the tongue has plenty of material on top but the inside tongue was too small. Oh my heart was broken as it is so hard to find good boots with hook and loop.
So off they go back to Bean.
"
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:Active but Disabled
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks great but...

,
Date:January 16, 2009
By
from Joliet, Illinois
" My husband was initially impressed with the style and fit. After shoveling snow for about 30 minutes, he had to stop and remove the boots. The boots had caused two dark red, almost purple sores on the front of each shin. Thank goodness L.L. Bean has such a liberal return policy! "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
Review 14 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

can't get foot in

,
Date:January 8, 2009
By
from The Continental Divide-Rocky Mtns.
" The throat-where the tongue is connected to the boot is too narrow. We couldn't get them on. It's the right size and we wear western or cowboy boots. There wasn't any paper inserted into the boots, as has been done with other LL Bean footwear, so I don't know if the boots had already been returned by another customer or it's a design flaw. I couldn't find an answer to this. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:a person from the Rockies
Review 15 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unwalkable

,
Date:December 24, 2008
By
from Seattle, WA
" I've had the same experience as the December 18th reviewer. While their lower part fit and wear perfectly, their upper part felt very stiff when walking.
Subsequently, walking any distance was painful, due to the boot's upper part rubbing badly against the backside of my lower legs. "
Review 16 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Size accuracy

,
Date:December 20, 2008
By
from Connecticut
" Gift item ordered one size larger since they did not have the width in stock. The 13 med was not even a size 12. I measured the sole and it was just 12
inches from toe to heel, so in my estimation it was an 11.
ONCE AGAIN, I ordered a 13. By the way, they do not offer 14.
"
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:nurse
Review 17 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blisters galore

,
Date:December 18, 2008
By
from North Shore MA
" good fit, comfortable until you walk in them
the seams where the leather and fabric join are prominent inside the shoe despite a liner. (Where you see the dark brown C shaped stripe on the side of the shoe).
Both ankles got blisters repeatedly where these seams were. either design flaw or poor workmanship but either way rendered boot unwearable. I wore 4 times in case I just needed to break them in, but problem persists. too bad, was nice fit save the abrasions, and that's with two pairs of thick socks, too. "
Gender:Male
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:avid outdoorsman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Size matters!

,
Date:December 6, 2013
By
from Topeka, KS
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
Fit:
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
" Very disappointed with this purchase. Before ordering, I read comments here about sizing. I normally wear a 10 1/2 D so I ordered a size 11. Length was too short and the width definitely not a D. Made it very difficult to get my foot into the boot with boot socks.
Also, be aware that these are not light in weight. Each boot weighs approximately 36 oz, Far too heavy for what I was looking for in a snowboot.
I've returned for a refund. "
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:Outdoors enthusiast
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

too small

,
Date:October 23, 2013
By
from Fitchburg, MA
Customers Say It Fits:
Length:
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Small
Full Size Too Large
" Loved the price but the other reviews I read were correct. These boots run small. We even ordered the next size up for my husband and he couldn't even get one of them on his foot. We are exchanging them for another style. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Wildcat Boots, Hook-and-Loop
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Getting into this boot.

,
Date:June 5, 2013
By
from Canton, MA, USA
" I bought this boot because I was tired of boots which took a long time to lace up. And on occasion the laces would come undone in certain conditions.
So the Velcro was a MAJOR reason for buying the boot.
I started out with a size 10. I had that boot since 2011 I believe. And what I discovered was it was VERY DIFFICULT TO GET INTO THE BOOT. A real struggle that made me re-think laced boots.
Instead I exchanged the size 10's for size 11. But the difficulty continues tho it's not quite such an awkward struggle. And there's a "mushy" feel to the fit of the size 11..
So I will shortly be returning the size 11 boots and ill likely go back to laced boots.
I think part of the problem is that boot is constructed from artificial materials such as a plastic. Whatever the materials, they do not have "give" and remain stiff.
The other problem is the back of the boot is NOT stiff. In fact, as I write this, I see that this is the real problem. Because when one's foot enters the boot, the back squashes down. So the lower part of the back is blocking the foot's entry. Yes, this is THE problem.
So, this all comes down to a design flaw.
It's really unfortunate that these boots that these otherwise fine boots have this Achilles heel.
Would it be possible to broaden the product line of Velcro boots? "
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:An outdoors person but not rabidly so (mountains etc)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next«