Customer Reviews for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at L.L.Bean.

Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid

  • Packed with 650-fill down for exceptional warmth
  • Water-reistant nylon fabric is less bulky and lets kids move easily
  • Removable hood with faux-fur ruff
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Review 1 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Thin outer shell

,
Date:December 3, 2010
By
from NY
This Product is...Comfortable
" I bought this coat last year to replace his other LL Bean coat. I loved the first coat so much I wanted to purchase it again when he grew out of it after two years. I thought I was purchasing the same coat, but to my dismay this one arrived with a much thinner outer shell. Lightweight yes, warm, not as much as expected. My son hates layering and with the last coat, it was just too warm to wear a sweater. I was never fearful of him being too cold when we played in the snow all day... This coat, after an hour with a heavy hooded sweatshirt we have to return home. I too have issues with the hood. Up until this point i have been very satisfied with all of my other LL Bean purchases. Now, after one winter I'm searching for a new coat, hoping I don't make the same mistake. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
When did you purchase this item?Up to 1 Year
I would describe myself as:Adventure Mom!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hood is disappointing but Great Jacket!!

,
Date:November 9, 2010
By
from New York
This Product is...Durable, Great Value, Comfortable
" I bought this for my 4 year old son and he loves it. It's warm enough that he doesn't have to layer with an inner hoodie. The only thing that's disappointing is the hood. The fur trim doesnt start from the edge of the hood but an 1.5 inch short on each side. It looks like he's wearing a fur headband but otherwise, great jacket. I hope this will aspect will improve for next season. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?First time
When did you purchase this item?Within 1 Month
I would describe myself as:fashionable
Review 3 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

nice jacket

,
Date:November 4, 2010
By
from Tuckerton, NJ
This Product is...Durable, Comfortable
" I liked the jacket but the hood was way too small which was a major disadvantage for us because when it's windy and cold the hood did not cover the head at all and kept falling off. Otherwise this is a very nice, warm jacket but the hood was a major disappointment. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
Review 4 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome coat

,
Date:October 2, 2010
By
from Portland, IN
This Product is...Durable, Great Value, Performing as Expected
" My son out grew is old coat which was the 3-in-1 Wildcat. He had that coat for over 3 years and his younger sister got it until she too out grew it. The coat still looks like new and the durability is just mind blowing. Everything I have ever gotten from L.L. Bean has been absolutely wonderful and I can't wait to put his new coat to the test. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great parka

,
Date:January 24, 2010
By
from brooklyn, ny
" I bought this for my 2 year old daughter. It's easy, warm and stylish. She loves the jacket as well. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:mom who loves to walk, travel and fill the day with fun activities with kids.
Review 6 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best All-Purpose Winter Coat for a Child

,
Date:January 22, 2010
By
from Pennsylvania
" I bought this coat 2 years ago in a light blue color for my oldest daughter. It is a great coat. It is very warm for standing at the bus stop, durable enough for sledding and playing in the snow, cleans up nicely in the washing machine and dryer, and is nice enough to wear over a dress if you choose. I would order another one if LLBean offered some feminine colors. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:avid online shopper
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Baxter State Parka - For Boys Only?

,
Date:December 3, 2009
By
from Presque Isle, ME
" My daughter has worn LL Bean's Baxter State Parkas for the last 4 years. She loves them as they keep her very warm in the cold Maine winter weather. We were VERY disappointed that LL Bean chose not to offer girl colors this year. Come on LL Bean, let's get some girl colors - and not just pink either! "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

,
Date:November 5, 2009
By
from Wisconsin
" I own the adult Baxter State Parka which I love. Unfortunately the kid's version was disappointing. I ordered a size up so that my son had room to grow and the sleeves were way too short. The coat itself is nice looking but the fur around the hood looked absolutely ridiculous. We buy all our outerwear from LLBean and this is the first time that I've ever been genuinely disappointed with a product. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Kids Jacket

,
Date:October 19, 2009
By
from New York City
" We bought our son the same jacket 2 years ago and he was able to use it for 2 years. We live in NY and we commute everyday to school, this jacket kept him warm while other children were freezing. During rain, it kept him dry and the hooded fur protected his face from the wind (granted he also wore a balaclava :). We are very pleased with this jacket that we did not even consider to get a different one, of course we picked a different color this time. Too bad there's no matching adult size jacket for men and women and also no matching hat and gloves for kids. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:Quality seeker consumer
Review 10 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ultralight Baxter State Parka

,
Date:January 14, 2009
By
from Queens, Ny
" Warm yet light weight and comfortable. I wear a medium and it was roomy enough to layer with a sweater. I am very happy with this coat "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:Retired, active and a stay at home grandma
Review 11 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hood needs to be redesigned

,
Date:January 14, 2009
By
from Providence, RI
" This is a good, warm coat, but I agree with the other reviewers that the hood needs a re-do. Infuriating and serves little purpose: The velcro that attaches the hood is located inside a tunnel on the neck of the jacket and you have to push the velcro tab that is attached to the hood into the tunnel somehow and then smush it closed. If you have been able to push your adult fingers into this tiny opening with the velcro tab positioned properly, it MAY attach the hood temporarily, since the zipper that attaches the hood does not run around the length of the neck, it stops short and if the velcro tabs are not attached, the hood just flaps around uselessly. In addition, the fur ruff seems superfluous. It does not add function like the ruff on a snorkel hood, to filter out blowing snow, since the hood does not cover the face enough (and why??). Fur actually looks very odd, just stuck on the end of a rather short hood. This is an expensive coat; I wish I could give it 5 stars because it is very warm and the children have not complained about being cold EXCEPT for their heads.
Down with a hood is the only way to be absolutely certain your children are warm when sub-zero wind is blowing: you know that their little necks will not get frozen because they have a hood over their hat, but these little details are enough to make me shop around. I don't like arriving at school during recess to find my Kindergarten-aged son running around on a cold, cold day with head uncovered and a hood flapping around at the end of a zipper (which comes unzipped very easily). Bungees would work better for keepig a hood UP during activity. Hoods are great for this age group, since 5 & 6 y olds lose or can't be bothered with hats. But for the money, the hood really, really needs to make sense! "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:Stay at home Mom,
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great coat...mostly

,
Date:January 6, 2009
By
from NY, NY
" Overall this is a great coat. Fits well and is warm enough for NYC. However, a few improvements would make it even better. First, bring back the fleece lining, preferably in a dark contrast color. My daughter has the light blue and the interior is looking really grubby already. Second, fix the hood! It doesn't pull up all the way and that velcro closure thing is worthless...the mini bungees are much better. Also, could the storm flap have snap closure instead of velcro? Velcro gets so gross with lint in it etc. And my 2 year old son gets frustrated because he can't unzip the coat himself until someone helps with the industrial strenghth velcro. Also, thank goodness the fur comes off! "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:practical mother
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice and Cosy, but fits small

,
Date:January 6, 2009
By
from Toronto, Canada
" I bought this coat for my 5 yr old son in Feb 2008. He is always cold and resists outdoor activities due to this. The coat I bought is super warm and he looks stylish - we love the fur trim. He is a small child so I thought the coat (sz 5-6) would fit for 2 yrs but I must say it is very snug already. He looks like a stuffed sausage. Of course, this is with snowpants (with a bib) underneath. That said, he is very happy and warm and plays outdoors all the time now. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
I would describe myself as:enjoying the outdoors
Review 14 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

no hand-warmer pockets

,
Date:December 6, 2008
By
from Minnesota
" The coat and hood fit well and the fabric stops the wind. We haven't had our coldest days, but I'd still recommend dressing in layers. The coat has cargo pockets with Velcro closures, but does not have lined hand warming pockets. The fur trim was not a hit, thankfully it zips right off. "
Review 15 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Baxter State Parka

,
Date:November 27, 2008
By
from Stoughton, MA
" I bought it for my 4 year old son and like it a lot. It's warm and light and I do not have to worry about my son being cold. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
Review 16 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Really WARM!

,
Date:November 27, 2008
By
from Pine Plains, NY
" My daughter is always cold, especially playing outside on cold, windy days. The first time she wore this coat, she was actually warm! I hesitated over the price tag, but it is worth it... "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
Review 17 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

New Parka NOT warm

,
Date:November 24, 2008
By
from Brooklyn, NY
" I am very disappointed in this coat. It is paper-thin and not warm by any means. Last year my son had the older version of the same coat and it was so warm and amazing. You could ski in the old coat and be warm. This year, LL Bean revised the coat to make it less bulky but they failed to mention that the warmth went out with it. It is thin, they took away all the fleece that used to line it. This will NOT keep your son warm this winter. It has been in the 20's here in NY and my son is cold in it. He has to wear a hoody underneath it to stay warm!! Extremely, extremely disappointed with this company for the first time. They missed the mark when they changed the dynamics of the coat. The point of a coat is to keep one warm. This coat is like a fall jacket. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Occasionally
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kids' Ultralight Baxter State Parka, Plaid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Winter Coat

,
Date:October 15, 2008
By
from Illinois
" I bought the fuchsia coat for my granddaughter because I like the light weight warmth provided by goose down and this coat is machine washable. When she tried the coat on, I was pleasantly surprised by how stylishly beautiful the coat is on her. I am sure that this beautiful coat will keep her toasty warm during our cold snowy Illinois winter and would recommend the coat to anyone looking to purchase a child's winter coat. "
Gender:Female
How often do you shop at L.L.Bean?Frequently
I would describe myself as:Professional who loves being a grandma, enjoying nature, and fly fishing.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.